My Night With Hubby and Norman Rockwell

A couple months ago,

Aaron and I had the enjoyed a special night out.

We left the kids with my parents, got all dolled up and spent the evening at the

Dayton Art Museum.

There is something romantic about walking through a museum at night.

I am not sure what makes it romantic, but for me it was.

We were there as invited guests of the musuem, as part of a social media promotion.

The DAI had simply asked several local bloggers to help get the word out.

When I received the invite, I jumped at the chance!

There have been opportunities like this in the past, but this is the first one of it’s kind

That really appealed to me.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the DAI.

It is beautiful.

Historic.

Huge.

Yet somehow intimate.

There are many beautiful, classic pieces of art on display, but I lack time to

Take advantage of the pleasure of spending time enjoying the museum.

So, back to the reason I accepted the invite and spent an evening there…

The exhibit was showcasing Norman Rockwell.

It is officially entitled,

“American Chronicles: The Art of Norman Rockwell”,

Presented by PNC.

Norman Rockwell is an iconic artist and I remember seeing images he created while growing up.

My grandmother had a puzzle showcasing one of his works, and I remember staring at it for hours.

This particular piece made me giggle and wonder.

There was a little boys, about 10 years old, at the doctors office.

I remember staring at the background of the puzzle more than the image of

The doctor or the boy.

It was fun to see what hidden things were placed around the office.

When we were at the museum, we learned this was the way all of Mr. Rockwell’s

Pieces were designed.

His work is steeped in history as well as full of imagination.

His images ring true to much of the history that is being written by our day to day lives,

That is what struck me most about touring the exhibit.

While there, we started by enjoying many of the covers of The Saturday Evening Post.

It was fantastic.

The beginning of the experience leaves you in awe as you can study

The images up close and personal.

They are large paintings, so you really get a good look.

As you move on, you progress into a more political collection.

There is also a video you can sit down and watch.

Finally you make your way into a fun addition to the exhibit.

You can use props and pose as you wish, to make your own

Saturday Evening Post cover!

It is so much fun!!

Aaron was a good sport!

I am so glad I wore this dress. 🙂

So, make sure you bring a camera for this part.

After you get your covergirl/boy on,

You are treated to a huge display of cover-sized frames full of his work.

This part could suck you in for a day.

I was moved by the enormity of the room and how many covers Mr. Rockwell had created.

Considering how much time and attention to detail he included,

It is truly an amazing site to behold.

Take your time in this room.

Soak it all in.

Overall, the display is a site to behold and a treasured evening to be shared with

Someone you love.

Aaron and I equally enjoyed the experience and have decided to go to more events like this in

The future.

It is a great way to get out of the same-date-every-time-we-go-out rut.

I hope you make time to go to the DAI to enjoy this exhibit.

You will not be disappointed.

It was everything I hoped it would be and more!

You can find all the info you need over at

daytonartinstitute.org

Hurry though, the Norman Rockwell exhibit concludes Feb 5th.

Be sure to let me know if you go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

