Pumpkin Mouse Trifle

Yummmmmm, right!

Here’s the story.

I wanted to make my pumpkin pie trifle for our family Christmas party tonight.

I whipped up 3 homemade pumpkin pies, without the crust.

Then I planned to layer the pies with coolwhip.

I have done this before and it is yummy.

Well, I pulled the pies out of the oven and noticed they didn’t look right.

I tasted one.

YUCK!

I forgot the sugar!!

So, I did what any good cook does, sat down and cried.

My husband was out w/ a friend for breakfast and I knew he would

Need to “taste” to believe how bad the pies were.

He called me on his way home and I told him what happened.

Aaron: “Can you add sugar?”

Me: “No, they are already baked.”

A:” They are going to be layered right?”

M: “Yes.’

A: “Throw them in the blender w/ sugar.”

M:” You are brilliant! Gotta go.”

So I scooped out the filling from the pie plate,

Threw it in my Kitchen Aid.

Added about 12 TBS brown sugar and about 1/2 cup coolwhip.

It created a sweet, delicious, pumpkin mousse!!!

Then I layered it, as planned w/ my coolwhip.

I always top it with cinnamon sugar pie crust balls.

*To make pie crust balls:

Make pie crust

Add cinnamon sugar

Roll into little balls

Bake on ungreased cookie sheet

425′ – 5 mins

375′ – 10 mins or until brown.

Then sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top.

NomNomNom!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Sorry haven’t been online in forever. I LOVE LOVE LOVE pumpkin. This looks so good. Next time you can just drop this by my house. LOL…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

