Baking + Bonding = Blessings

This morning, while Noah was still asleep,

I took advantage of some alone time with Collin.

We headed into the kitchen and I asked him if he wanted

To make coffee cake for breakfast?

He ran to the little red chair we keep in the kitchen for cooking with the kids,

 Moved it next to the stove, hopped on and reached for the cinnamon sugar.

He informed me he was ready!

I love how well the boys know what we are going to need when we bake!

I am hopeful I am raising 2 little boys who will turn

Into men who will be able to cook for themselves.

It is really important to me that they not only know how to cook,

But enjoy it as well.

So much of their childhood has been spent making things with me.

Crafts, cookies, pancakes, soup…

You name it.

And you know what, it has been about so much more than the recipes.

It is about the bonding and memories.

The life skills are really just a bonus!

Today Collin and I made my Grandma Ruth’s coffee cake.

Growing up, I too spent a lot of time in the kitchen.

I remember making scrambled eggs for the first time.

I remember making mashed potato’s and including a 1/4 cup of salt instead of 1/4 tsp.

I remember  eating TONS of cookie dough and chocolate during our annual

Cookie/candy making event with my mom and sister every December.

I treasure those memories!

If you ever see my mom and I cook together today,

You may notice how well it works.

We take on tasks, like a well oiled machine,

There isn’t a lot of talk on who does what, we just do it.

We spend our time talking about everything else, because she taught me how to cook

And I know what her next move will be and I know where/how to fill in.

It is still one of my favorite things to do with my mom.

Now, she does it with my boys.

It means so much to know that she is building those memories with them as well.

As I mentioned, today Collin and I made coffee cake.

Not just any coffee cake,

MY Grandma’s coffee cake.

This coffee cake is crumbly and traditional.

I have doctored it up, quite a bit over the years,

But it still reminds me of Grandma’s house.

Collin is quite the little baker.

He loves it!

He can do it all, even though I still do the measuring.

He can sift, crack eggs, use the mixer controls and

He gives a running report of what is happening in the mixer bowl.

Collin:”OOO, it is ‘detting’ messy.”

Transaltion: The wet ingredients are combining.

C: “I ‘tan’ see it looking like icing now.”

T: It is well combined, time to add dry ingredients.

C:”Phew! That was a ‘tlose’ (close) one”

T: He turned the mixer onto to high a speed and flour flew everywhere.

C: This is going to be yummy!

T: He added cinnamon and it is almost done.

C: “‘Tan’ I lick it now?

T: The mixing is done, I can’t wait to lick the mixing paddle!

He was right!

Here is the end result

Here is the Chef enjoying his work!

It was delicious!

Here is the recipe, as I made it, not exactly the way Grandma did.

Combine:

3/4 c sugar

1/4 c butter flavored Crisco

1 egg

Stir in:

1/2 c milk (I used skim)

Sift, then add:

1 1/2 c flour

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

Once well mixed, add:

1-2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

4Tbsp brown sugar

Use a generous amount of cooking spray to prepare a 8′ round,

any 8′ or 9′ pan will work.

Pour the THICK batter into the prepared pan.

Top with Cinnamon sugar.

Bake at 350′ for 30-40 minutes.

Serve warm!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Looks like he enjoyed himself. Looks yummy…You know what I always wondered? Why is it coffee cake? No coffee in it? I know you drink it with your coffee? I always thought it should be called. Drink with your coffee cake…You know how my mind thinks..LOL…So glad you had these moments.

  2. 2

    Erin said,

    So very sweet. From the 1/4 cup of salt to still cooking with your wonderful mama to letting him use the mixer. I want to come hang out in your kitchen. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

