Motherhood… The Gifts Keep On Coming

When I was a little girl, I dreamed of being a mommy.

I always imagined myself having little girls.

When I became a mother and the reality hit of being a Mommy to a boy,

I was not sure how that would play out.

I was  TERRIFIED a bit scared that I wouldn’t know what to do with a boy.

Then,  came a second son.

While I have never felt the need to try for a girl, the thought of raising boys was foreign to me.

If I had only  known 6 years ago what I know now!

Being a mom of boys is

Messy.

Funny.

Interesting.

And often creepy and crawly.

There is never a dull moment.

EVER!

Some things I never expected would happen with little boys around../

My hair bands go missing.

Not for pony tails, but for handcuffs.

My shoes walk themselves from where I take them off, and end up in weird locations.

Dress up happens daily…

Not princesses, but pirates and super hero characters.

Baking, cooking and crafting.

My boys LOVE all things creative.

Voluntary help with laundry and house work.

They love to help their Mommy.

Things I didn’t know I would like…

 Big hugs from muddy little boys.

Starring at spiderwebs to watch spiders.

Letting my boys go hogwild with the water hose on hot summer days.

lego and lincoln log messes… daily.

Do you want to know what I was most unprepared for?

Finding that God didn’t just prepare me for being a mommy to 2 boys,

He made me to be their mommy.

🙂

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I love this! I’m a new mom of a boy and already thinking these same things. It will be an adventure! Great post. You make me look forward to being the mom of a boy!

  2. 3

    Phil Dell said,

    If anyone was born to be a mommy, it is you. You are a wonderful one.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

