The Bible… Plain and Simple or Complicated

When has the Bible become so complicated?

When did we go from picking it up and reading it  to

Needing a “topical” study guide to make it an official Bible study?

Several months ago, my husband was given a book by our friend Aaron.

The book is

“Radical” by David Platt.

The book made quite and impression upon my hubby, and he was challenged by many of the thoughts

And idea’s of this book.

One of the things he read and wanted to implement into our lives was

The concept of an “all day Bible reading”.

I wasn’t sure what this would be like, but I supported the idea because it was so important to him.

Last Saturday, 10 people from our church gathered together to spend 9 a.m to 4 p.m.

Reading and discussing God’s word.

We started with the book of Amos.

I arrived one hour late after dropping the kids off with my parents.

When I got there, they had only made it through the first chapter of the book.

I was a bit overwhelmed by the prospect of spending that much time on each chapter.

UNTIL we got to chapter 2 and I saw the beauty that was happening in the room.

In the 10 people that were part of this group were:

10 unique people.

10 different upbringings.

10 versatile opinion.

BUT

ONE

COMMON

GOAL.

We all wanted to learn more about God.

We all wanted to discuss His word and dive deep into the ocean of His words to us.

The discussion was wonderful.

Things I had never thought of were gifted to me, via the people around me.

Together we spent hours reading the WORD of GOD!

It was amazing.

When we completed Amos, we worked on Ephesians.

Before the study, Hubs had arranged for specific people to prepare some history of the text.

It was great to hear their insight and any commentary they had pulled information from prior to the study.

It was a great day and I encourage you to give it a shot!

Bible study does not have to be as complicated as we make it.

It is simply spending time reading and learning what God has laid out for us.

It is beautiful.

It is a precious gift…

Plain and Simple.

Leave a Reply

