Name Calling

I love my boys!

I love to let them dress up in their cowboy clothes

For a trip to the grocery store.

It is not uncommon to see them wearing their cowboy boots  with shorts

Or  a raincoat on a sunny day.

I sincerely feel like there is only a TINY little window of their life that they will

Have the confidence to walk through the world in clothes that don’t make

Sense to the untrained eye.

I took the boys to McDonalds for an ice cream cone.

Noah was wearing a “helmet”,

Aka the bucket his Toy Story Soldier’s came in.

It was cute!

One of the McPloyee’s (if they don’t call them that, they really should!)

Commented on how much she liked his hat and wished she had one just like it.

He thanked her and informed her it was actually a helmet!

During the visit I could see people smile as they acknowledged

Noah’s creativity and the whimsy that is a little boy.

When the boys finished their cones, we were throwing away our trash

And a man and his wife were leaving.

The man noticed Noah and practically yelled,

“Hey Buckethead!” at my sweet little boy.

I laughed it off, in hopes that Noah would not feel embarrassed.

But it was too late.

He took the helmet off and asked me why that man “called a name at him”.

He said he would never wear a bucket on his head again.

He almost cried.

So did I.

I tried to comfort him, and let him know the man probably thought it was funny to

See a person with a bucket on his head.

My words fell on a sad face with head held down.

It breaks my heart.

I knew one day someone would say something to make the boys feel like

Dressing up is not the cool thing to do,

But I always expected it would be another child.

Thankfully, kids bounce back quickly.

Noah has moved past talking about it.

I hope this doesn’t change things to much.

For what it’s worth…

I am honored to walk a pirate, superman, cowboy…

And of course my helmet head any day!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kandi said,

    I’m so sorry that happened Becky! My kids do the same thing. I’m routinely blessed with a princess, spiderman, a ninja, or my own little Punky Brewster! Noah is such a sweet boy and didn’t deserve that, especially from an adult.
    Right now I’m saying thank you’s to God that children are extremely resilient!

  2. 2

    How mean of someone to ruin childhood like that. It’s a good thing kids bounce back quickly.

    (I am known to dress up along with my boys- or on my own- when I leave the house)

  3. 3

    Too bad you guys weren’t here on Saturday night. My HUSBAND spent a good deal of the evening sitting around with a pumpkin bucket on HIS head. We’re known to make “casts” from feather boas, “hats” out of melamine bowls, “skirts” from paper sacks, and “Rapunzel hair” from 13 blankets tied together around our waists and dragged along the floor.

    Why do some people have to be so crass? How about a high-five for a creative guy who is excited to use his head for more than ramming his brother into a corner instead of dousing that creative fire that was burning so brightly? Boo for that guy. Yay for Noah!!!

  4. 4

    Dumeta said,

    Amen,Amen, and Amen to all the above comments. Wear the helmet next trip out Mom to show him it is ok to be whatever you want to be. I am sure you will get some remarks so hold your head high and show them how it is done.

  5. 5

    I don’t know why grown adult feel the need to belittle a small child. Actually I know why they do. They feel so insecure about their own life that they actually have to over power a small and innocent child. I am so sorry that, that child had to be yours. My children also go out and were their costumes, or mismatched socks. Don’t let this 1 event stop their creativity. Use it as a learning lesson. I will proudly walk with your helmet head’s any day also.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

