Alone Time

Last week and this week my boys have been involved in a vacation Bible school.

Aaron and I have decided to send them 3 VBS’ this summer.

If you have followed this blog for any amount of time, you probably know we homeschool our boys.

While I don’t feel they are lacking socalization, I do think it will serve them well to spend some time

In a classroom situation, so we are hitting up local Vacation Bible Schools.

Last week they were in VBS from 9-12 and this week from 9 – 12:30.

You know what?

I miss them.

I am enjoying my  break,

I read an entire almost 500 page book last week.

*It is called Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, and it is AMAZING!*

I spent time 4 mornings last week at Caribou coffee, sipping, internetting and reading.

Yesterday, I spent 1 hour and 20 mins working out, then took my time showering and getting ready

Before I hit a fabric store where I spend the next 40 minutes thinking of what I wanted to make next.

AND I still had time to sit in a quiet parking lot and read for a bit before I picked them up.

Today, I write to you from Starbucks, where I will soon meet a friend for coffee.

In a couple of hours I will pick up my boys and we will spend the afternoon at the pool.

As I type the words, I can’t believe this is my life.

I can’t believe how blessed I am.

I don’t take it for granted that I am a stay at home Mommy.

I try not to anyway.

Growing up, it was my goal for the future.

I wanted to be a mommy and stay at home.

It wasn’t until I was in my 20’s that I felt God lay it on my heart to homeschool.

Now, I am living that goal daily.

And I feel like I need to pinch myself.

I have discovered that I am not good at letting my children out of my sight.

I constantly think about them, which I suppose is normal.

Right??

While they are not here physically they are continually on my heart and mind.

It is a strange feeling.

One I am sure will become normal at some point in my life, but now it feels like

I am walking through a familiar town where something major has happened in my life

And no one knows accept me.

I don’t feel quite right w/o them by my side.

Ya know?

I am praying for God to take hold of this part of me.

I trust he is taking care of them while they not with me,

But I miss them.

I wish I felt that deep desire for God.

I wish I missed Him so much.

I pray for that desire.

I pray for that closeness.

I am thankful for  free schedule and time to think a thought through to completion.

I am thankful for the gift of my children.

For the hustle and bustle of our life.

For the love I feel for them and from them.

What a tremendous gift!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jenny W said,

    That does sound nice! I wouldn’t mind that kind of week either. You are blessed indeed sister. But, I guess we are all blessed, just in different ways. I am blessed to be able to help provide hope and direction for troubled kids and families.

  2. 2

    Rachel said,

    it’s a good life!!! I read Redeeming Love at one sitting because I couldn’t out it down. I didn’t eat lunch or dinner that day! It’s probably my all time favorite book. Have you read her other smaller ones? She wrote several similar to Redeeming love and my favorite one in that series in Rahab.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

