Break Free Friday – A Day Late…

This week was Memorial Day and our first week back from a wonderful vacation.

I am behind.

Everything is kind of out of whack.

Anyway, that is why my post is coming to you on Saturday instead of Friday.

I apologize.

The challenge I left you with for 2 weeks was probably the most important,

To spend more time reading the Bible.

I did really well with the challenge while we were gone.

Everyday, accept one, while we were visiting Disney World started with me reading the Bible.

I woke up earlier than everyone and felt energized.

I took that as God prompting me to read, I did and it was so wonderful.

Since our return I have only read 3 out of 6 days.

This is not acceptable.

I am ashamed.

See I am trying to break free from things that take the place of God in my life.

Things that become more important and steal away precious thoughts that should be filled with Him.

If I am not spending time with Him everyday, there is a problem.

A BIG problem.

This leads me to the next challenge.

See when I was on vacation, I was focused on my priorities.

The important things.

God, then, my family.

At home, so much stuff gets in the way.

Important stuff like cleaning, cooking, and laundry,

And then there is getting sucked into facebook or twitter or sewing or blog reading…

Know what I mean?

I call in multitasking, but really it is goblletygook.

My challenge to myself this week is to be fully invested in one thing at a time.

To enjoy my family more.

Spend more time cuddling my fast growing children,

Snuggling with Aaron on the couch as we watch tv,

Be 100% present.

I know this is going to be difficult.

In fact it makes me feel vulnerable and I am not looking forward to it,

BUT

I have to do it.

Precious moments are passing and I am missing so much.

I don’t know if you struggle with this, but if you do, please consider taking the plunge with me.

Make sure to comment below if you are going to give this a shot.

Best wishes!!

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kandi said,

    I’ve been doing this for a while now. I give myself 1 hour in the morning (sometimes less) online and everything else waits until after the kids are in bed. If it can’t wait, then it doesn’t get done. Right now what’s important to me is spending the summer with my kids. I have also been spending time with my friends and making new ones closer to home.

  2. 2

    Great Post. I have a habit of getting sucked in to the computer. When I have been sick- like this cold I can’t shake- then it becomes too easy to just lay around and be on the computer.

    I have a couple Bible Study Lessons I missed. I should do those.

  3. 3

    Theresa said,

    Becky, it’s interesting that you write this now. I’ve just been struggling with the same issues myself! Maximize Your Mornings from Inspired to Action has been such a great encouragement, and now this message from you!

    Thanks so much for sharing this from your heart. -It’s nice to know I’m not alone! =)

  4. 4

    Erin said,

    I can really relate to this! Multitasking started as a necessity, then I got too good at it and now sometimes I just can’t stop. I’m taking your challenge! One thing at a time.

  5. 5

    Susan said,

    Being 100% present during my time with Steve has been a priority since he got back. I always used to multitask in the evenings, and never realized how much it drives him crazy. He is so energized by “buddy time” together, even if we’re just watching tv, and I’m trying to honor that.

  6. 6

    Tyson said,

    I feel sad when people talk about being ashamed. I know it is not how God wants us to feel (for the most part). Let me explain with an example.
    Remember back to when you were a kid, and you got caught being bad. Think about how your parents dealt with it. I’m sure sometimes they shamed you, and other time they their compassion moved you to maturity. God, as our loving father, rarely uses shame to mature us in our faith. I think shame is often the devil’s tool, to distract us from the main thing.
    In regards to life getting in the way of daily Bible readings, remember, what you are doing is sacred. If you are reading the Bible, washing a dish, or listening to a child’s scary dream. There is little to be ashamed of, as a follower of Christ.
    I know that some may disagree, but the freedom I have found in Christ has rarely lead me to a place of shame, and mostly, redemption.

  7. 7

    Donna said,

    I have painted a sign above my stove “Live Balanced”. I’m definitely trying to figure it out too. I think sometimes my husband and kids will give up on me ever slowing down…sometimes I think I’m ready to give up slowing down too. Count me in as someone trying to undo mulititasking and focus on God and family.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

