Things I LOVE Thursday! – SEWING!

I entered this shirt in a contest over at thecsiproject.com

Check out the new button on the right side bar!

I few weeks ago, I decided I needed to sew.

I wanted to make purses and aprons.

Afterall, I had been thinking about sewing for about a year.

So far I have shared these projects with you

An Apron and 2 purses.

This weeks I made

A tote, made from a place mat that is perfect for a trip to the library!

It held 9 Dr. Seuss size books.

The lining is super fun!

Two nights ago I tore apart an old wrap skirt that I never wore.

I was left with 2 pieces of material and endless possibilities.

I wanted to refashion it into an a-line top.

I tried to make it into a strappy v-neck with the addition of some yellow waffley fabric

I had taken from some place mats I had.

Apparently my  weeks of practice did not give way to instant pattern making.

So, I hit the internets and was completely inspired to dig out an old cropped scoop neck T I had from

A MAZILLION years ago.

Voila! The top of the shirt was born.

I am not entirely new to sewing.

I learned to sew, even made a pillow in Home Ec.

I have toyed with sewing for years, on and off.

The last thing  I made, prior to my recent projects, was before I was even pregnant.

My approach to sewing has changed.

I am a lot more laid back, more creative and less conventional.

AND I love it this go round.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kandi said,

    I love it Becky! I wish I could sew like that, but I’m not very talented with making patterns or having ideas. I’m a pillow and apron kind of gal..LOL. I do love the colors in the shirt!

  2. 2

    That shirt looked so cute on you last night LOVE it..I can’t wait to see what you make next..


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

