Skirt To Shirt, A Creative Process

I entered this shirt in a contest over at CSI Project!

Check out their button on the right side bar!

Okay, I wanted to make one more shirt for an upcoming trip to Florida!

Here is what I made

*sorry for  the flash*

I cut this skirt

Apart like this

First I removed the zipper and lining.

Then took the 2 pieces, pinned them together, slipped it on and decided how I wanted the shirt to fit.

I cut the excess length from the top and bottom.

I cut 2, roughly 3 inch pieces for straps.

Pressed them and folded them into about a 2 inch strap and added fusable interfacing.

I sewed the side seams.

Next I attached an old head wrap ribbon thingy to finish the top edge.

I have had this wrap for years, but only worn it a couple of times because it slips off constantly!

I think it makes the top of the shirt interesting and adds a nice touch!

* I should have attached the straps at this point, but did not. *

I pressed them flat then added the straps!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    cathy said,

    Cool!

  2. 2

    Erin said,

    Becky!!! You are fabulous!!! Seriously, that is so good, and it looks awesome on you. I think you have found another calling.

  3. 3

    Beck said,

    Super cute! I’m impressed with your craftiness!

  4. 4

    Ok, seriously!! You gotta come over and get in my closet!! You are amazing!

  5. 5

    Katie said,

    I LOVE this one! So creative! Don’t forget I’ve got some fabric over here you’re welcome to 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

