A Day For the Books

Today was one for the books.

So many wonderful treats for the boys and I, I am not sure where to begin.

After the sadness that plagued me for the last month or so,

I am beyond thankful for today and all of the gifts it brought.

In March, I contacted Jaime Jarosik,

A meteorologist with my favorite local news channel.

I was interested taking the boys to a newsroom so they could see how

The weather is reported on the news.

We had covered weather in Noah’s Kindergarten curriculum

And both boys LOVED it!

I have tweeted, occasionally with Jaime on Twitter

So I thought I would ask her if she knew of anyone in the area that would be able

To talk with my boys.

She GRACIOUSLY accepted and today we headed to Channel 2 for

A tour where we met Marsha Bonhart and the noon show producer.

Everyone we came in contact with was gracious and informative.

It was wonderful!!

Right before noon, Jaime walked us into the news studio.

She showed the boys why she uses each of her computers and made us feel right at home!

We were even invited to sit in the studio and watch the first half hour of the broadcast.

It was a wonderful start to our day!

*Sorry my pic was so blurry!*

It was a great, special morning!

Then we headed to Tumbleweed for a special lunch.

At Tumbleweed, kids eat free all day Sunday – Thursday.

And my meal was all of $5.49…

UMMM hello!

Great lunch + great company + great deal = YES please!

Then we hit Kroger for  a few groceries.

Ran by our Insurance Agents office to make a payment

Where our agent gave the boys each a road atlas, coloring book and candy!

Home for school and dinner then I took the boys to Ben and Jerry’s for

FREE cone day!

It was an amazing, day with wonderful memories!

I am so thankful for the great day we had.

So wonderful!!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Andrea@mommyconfessionsblog said,

    HOW much fun. I bet you had tons of fun learning yourself. I am very curious myself how they figure out all of the weather stuff. YEAH…I am so glad you all had a great day..

  2. 2

    Kandi said,

    YOu should have let me know! My aunt Jackie works in the accounting dept. out there. It looks like so much fun!

  3. 3

    Jim Weller said,

    And it all started out with a very well rested Becky and two cowboys full of sausage, pancakes and chocolate milk.

  4. 4

    Dumeta said,

    I have some very fond memories myself of days like that. The little things just mean so much and free is always good. :o)

  5. 5

    How fun!!! That was so nice of Jaime to have you guys in! That’s awesome!

  6. 6

    Erin said,

    That’s amazing! What a treat. Good idea, Mom! They will for sure remember that one!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

