Gifts Of Healing

Tonight was amazing.

I had the opportunity to take the boys to the circus,

Which was amazing by the way- post coming later on that!

It was a very special night.

Ya see, when you are living with chronic pain and

Recovering from one surgery after another,

Your role as a parent is altered.

While I spend every day, mostly alone with them,

I have not often done something of this magnitude alone with them.

I always bring back up.

Always!

When Aaron can’t come, I ask my dad or mom.

If they can’t come, I cancel or ask someone else.

Tonight when my dad was all of a sudden unable to go with me and Aaron is on call so

He couldn’t go, I decided I would go by myself.

This is huge.

Ya see, when you are used to living with limitations,

You forget what independence is like.

Tonight was just the 3 of us.

We drove to Cincinnati,

Got lost on the way there

AND on the way back.

We found our way!

We jumped.

Ran.

Played.

Wore silly red clown noses.

Practiced our best “ta-da” pose.

Danced.

Laughed.

And enjoyed the night together.

On the way home, the boys were asleep in the back and I was listening to 80’s music.

After talking with Aaron and my folks about the evening.

It was quiet.

And I felt like crying.

I am so thankful for the healing that God has graciously bestowed on me.

I am so thankful for my beautiful boys who were so well behaved and stayed close to me the entire night.

I am so thankful for the use of my left leg again.

For so much feeling that has returned.

For more nerves regenerating tonight as I feel the pain sitting here.

The good pain that means feeling returning!

So thankful!

So humbled.

SO grateful.

SO looking forward to playing with my boys this summer.

Playing catch.

Hiking.

Running.

Biking.

Tagging.

Swinging.

Laughing.

Embracing.

Making wonderful ACTIVE memories together.

I feel like so much of the first part of their lives have been spent with a stationary Mommy.

That is good for building legos, lincoln logs and puzzles,

But not for the wonderful things I am looking forward to!

Praise God from whom ALL blessings flow!

 

 

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dumeta said,

    I will never forgot the first time I took the boys out alone to a big event. It was so awesome and I felt so blessed for my boys, the time together and that I managed it alone in such a big crowded place. It happened to be Kings Island Winterfest, 1992. Time goes so fast, I am glad you grasp every moment like you do. :o)

    • 2

      Jenny said,

      Thanks for your perspective. I find it so interesting that my chronic pain currently makes me feel MORE independent and isolated while yours stole your independence.

  2. 3

    Susan said,

    I am hoping and praying for the time that I can rejoice for the same reasons. Also praying I can live half as Grace-fully as you did/do until then!

  3. 4

    What a wonderful time for you and your boys!
    Praise and Thanks to God for His grace, mercy, and healing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

