Amazing Love

Four little hands.

Four sweet feet.

Four beautiful eyes.

Two irresistible smiles.

Two active imaginations.

Boat loads of curiosity.

All bundled up into two little people.

The gifts of motherhood have yet to become common place for me.

I pray they never do.

I struggle with the “rug will be pulled out from under me at any minute” complex.

It is terrible and no way to live.

The truth is fear drives that way of thinking.

Fear that…

I will mess up.

I won’t be able to protect them.

I will let them down.

I won’t be the Mommy they need.

Do you know what the problem is with that kind of fear?

It is all about me!!!

Where is God in it?

NO WHERE!

It is not God honoring.

In fact it is God defying.

I have been chosen to be their mother.

That choice has bestowed many blessings and trials on me.

Many new ways to learn from mistakes and figure things out, trial by error style.

While the choice of  being their mommy was made by God for me,

I daily need to make sure I am choosing to follow him.

Lead by His example.

Carry out the job he has given me.

AND rest in Him.

I will mess up.

I will wish, maybe even ask, for a do-over.

The challenge is to go through my day honoring God above all.

So what happens when I fail?

Because I will!

I do often!!

Thankfully I can seek forgiveness as often as I need to!

That doesn’t mean I can treat his forgiveness like a “get out of jail free card”.

In the scheme of things He already knows I will fail.

I am not perfect.

He has already forgiven my sin as far as the east is from the west.

He has already died for my sins.

And He still loves me!

He created me!

Amen.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dumeta said,

    Thanks, I needed that after a rough day. You are so inspiring, or should I say God uses you to inspire me.
    Bless you!

  2. 2

    Poppey said,

    It is a hard thing to realize that our control is a myth. You need to realize that you can’t protect them, only God can. He is the one who protects them, sometimes through you. The beauty of it, is that He is also the one who protects you. So you teach them to rely on God, just as you rely on Him. He, after all, is the protector of us all. Unless the Lord builds the house, they labor in vain who build it. The other thing that comes up, is that if something happens to us, He will still be there to rely on. If they already rely on God, it will be easier if something happens to us. I always said, the hardest thing about raising kids is doing what I am supposed to do.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

