You would have loved tonight.

Tonight…

My living room warmed by the love of a family.

Sharing

A meal.

Stories.

Planning.

Memories.

Thoughts.

Some scattered, some on task.

But overall filled with love for you.

This morning God called you home.

He healed you.

He made you complete.

He drew you to him.

It was strange to be in the room full of people connected, by you, without you there.

It was almost as if you were sitting on the couch.

The void of your laughter hurts my heart.

Your smile was here, if only in pictures, BUT it was here.

Noah and Grandma Rosie 2005.

This day was filled with heartache, but great joy as you are now at rest.

Nothing made you happier, in this life, than being surrounded by family.

It was always something you loved and longed for.

Well, let me assure you,  you were the reason we all joined together tonight.

We greeted each other with hugs and tears.

The conversation was, at times, difficult.

The things we need to discuss, decide and move forward on are foreign and painful.

SO much is happening.

SO many changes taking place.

SO much to do.

It is a lot to process.

As for tonight though, the tears turned from laughter to tears and then back to laughter.

We love you.

Tonight we loved you together.

As a family.

YOUR family.

And you would have loved it.

Collin and Grandma Rosie 2006.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    Steph @psmom said,

    Oh hon, I’m so sorry. What a tribute to her memory though, the gathering of friends & family, and she is there, will be there, watching over you all.
    Hugs,
    Steph

  2. 3

    Beautiful, beautiful post. {tears rolling} I didn’t know her but I do know that I truly hope someone writes something as beautiful about me when I pass. Praying for you and your family during this time.

  3. 4

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Celia Emmons. Celia Emmons said: very sweet. (hugs) RT @dellgirl1: She would have loved tonight… https://randombecky.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/you-would-have-loved-tonight/ […]

  4. 5

    Steve Chase said,

    What a lovely tribute. Erin and I are praying for you and your family. We are deeply saddened. Reading your words from this post was a blessing to me.

  5. 6

    I sit here with tears running down my face. I thought and prayed for you all last night. The boys were in my thoughts as soon as I woke up this morning.
    Please let me know if YOU need anything. Food, child care, a shoulder to cry on ANYTHING. Love you…

  6. 7

    What a beautiful post…continuing to pray for you family! Love you girl!

  7. 9

    Dumeta said,

    Becky, you are so blessed to be able to take this difficult time and write such a beautiful post. My prayers are with all of you as I know there will be difficult days even though you know she is in a better place.

  8. 10

    Becky, that exactly expresses how I felt last night. It will never be the same without her laughter.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

