A Twinkle In Your Eye, A Tear In Mine

Yesterday I saw the future in your eyes.

We were at Panera a for snack and you walked away from our table,

Quietly,

Approached an Airforce man in uniform and thanked him for his service.

All by yourself.

Daddy and I have made it a point to encourage you to thank people in public service for giving so much

On our behalf, but now you do it on your own.

It is beautiful.

When you turned to me with a proud smile on your face, I saw something new in your eyes.

In that moment, I saw you growing.

In confidence.

In wisdom.

And becoming more independent.

You had a twinkle in your eye,

That ever present twinkle that makes me

Happy for your spontaneity and fear for your safety.

But this time it seemed to make you much older.

You are discovering so much about yourself these days.

Your exploration allows me to discover more about you too.

I cherish our relationship.

You are a lot like me, but so different too.

It is fun to be your Mommy.

And I thank God for giving you to me every day.

I love you Collin.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Erin said,

    Becky, you have me sniffling again! Beautiful! And that picture? You need to frame it. 🙂

  2. 2

    AWESOME!! Way to go Collin! And I agree with Erin, that is a wonderful photo.

  3. 3

    That is awesome! And that is such a sweet picture!!

  4. 4

    Dumeta said,

    You and Aaron are doing such a wonderful job at raising your boys. Be proud!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

