A Bedtime Ritual

 

Every night we sleep under the same roof.

Before I go to my bed, I visit you in yours.

Sometimes we are apart and I deeply miss this moment.

A moment my heart longs, a moment of truth.

I turn the hall light on, it softly lights your room.

I need to see you one last time before I close my eyes.

I need to kiss your soft, warm cheek.

I need to hear you breath.

It is a quiet, private moment but such an important part of my day.

I love to watch you sleep.

You are at peace.

You are beautiful.

You are safe.

You are here.

With me.

And I am so thankful for you both!

One day I will go to bed and not have the pleasure of seeing you one last time.

You will be all grown up.

I will miss you.

So while you are here, as long as I can, I will continue.

I will treasure these moments.

ALWAYS!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    Jenny said,

    I miss that already!

  2. 3

    Dumeta said,

    Very tue, treeasure it as it is a happy but very sad time when the room sits empty.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

