Page 717, A Real Page Turner…

717 pages.

For the last year and a half, (or so),

Aaron has been reading  “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C. S. Lewis

As a bedtime story to the boys.

He gets through a few pages every night.

He chose this book because fond memories of his father reading to him as a child.

This book is one of his favorites, still is.

A couple of years ago Noah said he wanted bedtime to be boys only.

Which we thought was a great idea so the boys could have some alone time with Daddy!

So from then on, that is how it has been.

I love listening to Aaron read to the boys.

He is animated.

His voice changes with the characters.

He comes to life and morphs into whomever he needs to be.

*side note, Aaron is really good at impersonations… ask him sometime!*

Noah will stay awake for the entire reading, Collin only for a minute or two.

To me, this bed time ritual is priceless.

Not because I get a 1/2 hour of quiet after a day of teaching, playing and connecting with the boys,

BUT they get 1/2 hour of uninterrupted alone time with Daddy.

They get to lay quietly and observe him.

Watching him.

Soaking him in.

Learning how to be a good Daddy.

For them it is time they

Love

Look forward to every day

Protect

Cherish

Long for

And expect.

Expectation is a huge part of childhood.

As children we expect a lot of things.

We expect

Food

A home

Love

Gifts

Attention

And more.

As adults our expectations change.

While we still share some of the same expectations,

When one of our expectations are unmet, we get upset, but move on.

Most of the time.

When I think of the time the boys look forward to at the end of the day,

Just Dad time,

It warms my heart.

Scratch that, my heats my heart to boiling.

I love it.

I love it so much.

I am thankful for it too.

Thankful for a  husband who longs for it too, maybe more than the rest of us.

The relationship between father and son is so important.

There are many aspects to the relationship and each needs nurtured as it is defined.

It is a pleasure to be the only girl in my house.

I get to watch the relationship being formed, nurtured and molded.

Sometimes intentionally, others “accidentally”.

I am so thankful to watch Aaron grow into the Father he was created to be.

These moments are fleeting.

I have written so many of them in my heart I could certainly fill 717 pages myself!

Just like the boys, I eagerly await page 718 and beyond.

For now, I need to go, it’s a new day.

Time to turn the page.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jeremy and the boys do this as well! And it’s “only for guys”. I love listening to them in the monitor – giggling, joking, loving, telling stories. We have found that Evan won’t really talk about his days at school during the day, but at night with just his daddy in the quiet of his bedroom, the flood gates open up and the whole day comes out! Love it!

  2. 2

    Dumeta said,

    You are AMAZING!!!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

