A Heater Can Warm Your Heart

Winter weather has hit Ohio!

It is FFFFFFRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEZZZZZZZIIIIIIINNNNNNGGGGGG!

While I don’t enjoy cold weather, I love what it brings.

We live in a house that is 6 years shy of it’s 100th birthday.

We have vents on the floor in most of our rooms.

When the heater kicks on you hear a couple of clicks and then you smell the warmth.

To me it smells like my Grandma Ruth’s house.

It reminds my dad of his folks house as well.

I always call him when it kicks on for the first time each winter.

I am a jerk sweet like that!

Here is his reaction…

Err, I mean…

Ahhh, that’s better!

Back to the floor heater.

When the heater kicks on the boys and I often look at each other and then spring into action.

Like clockwork one of us grabs a big blanket,

Another grabs a couple of pillows from our couch,

The other lays it all out near the heater.

We share this rectangle of warmth snuggled up under our blanket over the heater.

It is heaven!

The blanket puffs up as the warm air sends shivers up our spines.

Part of me wants to freeze time right then and there.

The warmth is palpable, but so is the love.

Moments like these are fleeting.

Time is passing, and I can’t make it slow down.

Someday, when my boys are men, I pray they remember these moments.

If they don’t, I will.

And it will always make me smile!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dad said,

    Great post. Your dad is a very handsome young man!

  2. 2

    Erin said,

    I’m right there with you! Mine curl up on the couch with me and I try to spread the quilt over everybody….they call it cozy, as in ‘Mommy, I need some cozy!’ Do you think we can freeze time just for a little while???


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

