Sweet Gifts of Trials

This year feels like a dream.

It has been host to many twists and turns.

As I think of all that has happened, I am exceedingly grateful for all of

The lessons.

The trials.

The joy.

The pain.

The weightgain.

The healing.

The discovery.

10 months ago, I was crawling.

About 7 months ago I was formally diagnosed.

5 months ago (today) I was operated on.

2 days later I was walking, this time with a walker.

Now, I walk tall and free.

I still have numbness on my right leg and foot, but I can totally live with that!

Today I am PAIN FREE, most of the time.

Pain that had, unknowingly, been part of my entire life.

I still can’t believe the amount of pain I was in day to day that I didn’t realize was abnormal.

I guess the saying, “you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone”

Is true for good and bad things.

While I am THRILLED and THANKFUL for the dismissal of pain,

I am just as THANKFUL for the ways in which God used it to shape me.

God worked mightily in my body this year through wonderful doctors, nurses and (currently) a great reconditioning team.

He has also done amazing things in my heart mind and soul.

What a whirlwind.

If the pain returns, I will look at it with different eyes.

Knowing, FULL WELL, any pain I have  CANNOT compare to the pain HE has endured on my behalf.

And that gift, my friends, gives me

LOVE.

JOY.

PEACE.

PATIENCE.

His grace POURED OUT on the cross for ME, for US, gives me HOPE.

I praise God for the trials of this year and for the sweet victory over so many things holding me hostage,

Physically, mentally and emotionally.

I am at rest.

Leave a Reply

