Hello Nostalgia…. My Name Is Becky

From 3 weeks old until Junior high

I lived in a black, 2-bedroom house.

The first  floor was divided with

1/2 Living room

1/4 Dining room

and 1/4 kitchen.

The basement could be accessed from the kitchen.

Between the kitchen and living room was a staircase.

My sister and I used to try to jump from the landing down all 14 steps.

We accomplished this task a couple of times.

On the west wall of the landing lived the laundry shoot.

I don’t know how many times I thought about sliding down the shoot.

Thank goodness I never tried it.

Once at the top of the remaining 5 steps, you were greeted by a hallway.

At the end of the hall were 3 rooms.

To the left, the bathroom.

Straight ahead, the room my sister and I shared.

To the right, mom and dad’s room.

My mom was a nurse (still is as a matter of fact).

My dad worked for the city we lived in (I still live in that city).

One block west of our house lived my dad’s parents.

2 1/2 blocks east of our house lived my mom’s mom and her grandmother.

I loved having my grandmas and grandpa so close.

I remember running away from home

A LOT as a child.

I wouldn’t go far, just to one of my grandparents houses.

Did I fail to mention that I was a bit dramatic as a child?

Lately I have been feeling nostalgic.

VERY nostalgic.

I imagine this is prompted by entering the new season of life with the boys both in school now.

Not only do I want to capture every moment of this season in my heart and mind,

I want the boys to look back fondly on this time.

I long for them to cherish the memories of their childhood.

This leads me to a grateful heart, bursting with thankfulness.

I am so thankful for a loving marriage.

I am thankful they do not need to worry about Mommy and Daddy leaving each other,

Or them.

The gift of a healthy, loving marriage is as much a blessing to me as it is to my boys.

I am thankful for the gift of being able to stay at home and care for them.

There is not a day that goes by that I am not thankful for that gift.

And every morning when I open that gift

I smile.

Even the days that are

Bad.

Hard.

Hellish.

LONG.

I cherish them.

It is amazing to me.

To God be the glory.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Erin said,

    Oh, I know! I think that I have the best job in the world, and I hope they know that. I hope that they look back and remember a childhood where Mommy was cheerful and patient, and where they were busy and happy and creative and secure. God knows I fail on my end all the time, but it seems like He does pour grace over the whole thing like a flood. I’m really glad about that. 🙂

    And dear Becky- I love reading your thoughts- you always get me thinking too! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

