A moment can change your life.

Something bad happened yesterday.

We are talking B.A.D.!!!

I was meeting my friend (Carmen)at the mall so the boys could play and we could shop a little.

While we were driving to the mall, my dad called to see what I was doing.

Come to find out he was at that mall walking

because he is an old fart.

for exercise and people watching.

So we arrive and he quickly finds us, thanks to Noah’s very specific phone call.

“Grandpa, we are here. We are going to the bathroom at Macy’s cause Collin has to poop.”

Or something like that!

Anyway, the boys played.

Dad offered to take the boys to the pet store so Carmen and I could shop.

All was fine.

We met up with my dad and the boys.

Then Carmen had to leave because she is so popular she was meeting up w/ her sister and friend too.

Dad wanted to take the boys to see the new Buzz and Woody costume’s at Build A Bear.

Off they went and I headed to Macy’s.

I hit their 70% off rack and quickly filled up my arm with clothes to try on.

I was headed to the fitting room when I saw Dad and Collin, fresh off the elevator.

I asked where Noah was and Collin said they couldn’t FIND HIM!!!!!

Apparently they got off the elevator and dad looked up to see if he could see me.

In that 5 seconds, Noah disappeared.

GONE!

LOST!

ALONE!

I dropped all of my would be try on clothes on the floor and started screaming his name.

I though he might have snuck back on the elevator, so I hopped on and headed to the second floor,

There are only 2 floors thank God!

I ran to 2 clerks and yelled “my 5 year old is missing! Call security!”.

They went to the phone.

They had actually seen the boys and dad walk by a minute earlier so they knew who they were looking for.

I called my dad to check in.

He had just found Noah!

I went down to meet them.

I wiped away the tears.

Apparently, Noah wanted to beat us to the door so he intentionally hidden himself as he found his way to the exit.

A door we never use.

He said he didn’t hear me yelling for him.

Thankfully a nice woman found him by the door and directed Dad to Noah.

It would have been so easy for someone to snatch him up and take him right out that door.

For the moments I didn’t know where Noah was I felt my world crashing down.

I was cut to the core.

The entire ordeal probably lasted a few minutes, but it felt like an eternity.

It only takes a moment for your world to change.

While in the elevator on the way to the second floor, I was crying out to God.

Yelling out to him.

He graciously gave my baby back to me.

Thankfully he allowed us to be together.

I know kids do this all the time.

Heck, I remember doing it as a kid.

It was terrifying.

I pray it doesn’t happen again.

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Geeeez my heart is pounding so fast!! SO thankful this had a happy ending! Didn’t you want to ground him for life after you got done hugging and kissing him for scaring you so bad???

  2. 3

    Erika said,

    So glad you found him safe and sound!! That is terrifying!!

  3. 5

    Oh my word!! Wow, thanks for the tear jerker this morning ;-)! But am thankful that he is safe!!

  4. 6

    Jen said,

    That happened to us with Jacob once when he was 2. It’s not fun and the anguish you feel not knowing where your child is is almost unbearable. So thankful that Noah was safe!

  5. 7

    Poppey said,

    Glad to hear it after the ending is known. That is heart pounding. Good to know that God saw him the entire time.

  6. 8

    Kandi said,

    Oh my! I’m so thankful you found him and he was fine!!

  7. 9

    glad you found him!

    wanna hear something sad… BadMom-Sad

    I have lost Connor so many times, it became ‘old hat’.

    “Looks like Connor wondered off again…. I guess we better walk around the zoo/neighborhood/mall/huge aquarium/park until we find him.”

    Last summer we were all leaving a park, Connor ran back to ride with friends. I forgot to check to make sure he actually really and truly made it to the spot they were. I had to call while on the road to make sure they had him. I felt like a failure mom. (but Connor was with them)

  8. 11

    Dumeta said,

    Oh Becky, a parents worse nightmare. All I can say is Praise God he is still in your arms today. You are right, it only takes a second to change your life. My boys still rag on me today for being an over protective mother. I can only smile as one day they may know what it feels like to love bigger than yourself and crumble in an instance when your child hurts, fears or feels pain. Both are over 20 and I pray everyday for their safety and well being. It never stops. Good thing God does not have a time limit on this kind of stuff.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

