I put myself out there and the pay off was HUGE!

I am not a person who likes to make new friends.

Some people find that hard to believe,

But it’s true.

I love having friends,

However, the idea of putting myself through meeting someone new terrifies me.

A year ago, in May

I decided to let go of some of that fear.

I stepped out of my comfort zone and went to my first ever blogging event.

Moms night out.

I knew my friend Erin was going, so I bummed a ride w/ her.

This night was hard for me.

I felt vulnerable, awkward and downright scared.

The evening was fun and the ladies were very nice, but I felt like a weirdo!

I wandered over to a table and sat next to my friend Susie.

Across from me was a beautiful girl with a great personality, red lips and HAWT shoes!

This beauty, Katie,  turned out to be a wonderful and  brave woman who is now a dear friend.

From there I started to get more involved in the blogging community.

It has been a place of comfort and ongoing support for me.

I have connected with so many amazing women!

I treasure our friendships and I am so thankful for you all!

If you, like me, are afraid of putting yourself out there, let me encourage you:

The more you do it, the easier it is.

Try to meet some new people.

Try to connect.

Here are a some blogs you should check out so you too can see who I love in this crazy blogging world.

Erin @ 5dollardiners.com

Katie @ domesticdebacle.com

Kandi and Andrea @ mommyconfessionsblog.com

Amy and Celia @ dealsfordayton.com

Jenny and Emily @momminitup.com

Cortney @ Evanhaslanded.com

Tricia @ onceamonthmom.com

Andrea @ mommysnacks.net

Amy @ amyinohio.com

Marianne @ writer-mommy.com

And even more…

Happy Friday, take time to think about the people you are thankful for!

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    So glad we have gotten to know each other more!! You are one awesome girl and I am thankful to call you “friend”. Can’t wait to hang out more!

  2. 3

    I’m so glad you came to Moms Nite Out!! I feel blessed by all of the friendships we have made by blogging too. I think God gave us these blogs so we could find one another. Sounds cheesy, I know!! It’s totally true!

  3. 5

    Ummmm…. “few” is around 3.

    😀

    Glad you got out and had fun!

  4. 8

    Susie said,

    Ohhhh, it was awkward! I feel the same as you, but friendships are always worth that initial awkwardness! xoxo

  5. 9

    ( you know I was just teasing….right?)

    I was always ‘antisocial’ and never liked doing things or talking or socializing. (I was told I was rude and ‘self-righteous’ on more than 1 occasion).
    I often got panic/anxiety attacks in groups (and anything more than 2 is a group)

    I never had a desire to socialize. Someone once told me that although II saw no benefit/need to be around others that maybe God had a purpose others to be around me. She told me I had good things to offer others.

    When I moved from Ohio to California, I decided to be more social. Make a few friends, do things with them. It’s still hard. A simple lunch with a friend wears me out and I sleep for 2 hours. But I keep trying and making myself do it. And I have actually come to enjoy it, in small doses.

  6. 10

    Krista said,

    I agree with getting out there and making friends. I never struggled with putting myself out there until becoming a mom. As a mom who is employed full time outside the home, I feel guilty if I leave my family to go to evening events and I of course miss anything during the day. If I’m being brutally honest, I’m also jealous when I read about the fun some of the very ladies on this list are out and about having.

    Connecting on blogs is lovely, but not the same as girl time. I miss that. I miss it alot.

    • 11

      dellgirl1 said,

      Krista, I know what you mean. Although I am not a working mom, I was raised by one. My mom worked a lot. She was a nurse and I remember her sacrificing so much to spend as much time with my sister and I as she could after work. I know your struggle, just from the perspective of the child. In my opinion, my mom was much more refreshed and happy when she was able to get out of the house and be a grown up. I know she felt guilty, but I think it was a good thing for her. I hope you will be able to get out of the house once in a while and really enjoy yourself. Mommy time is so important!

  7. 12

    […] Remember how I put myself out there and the pay off was huge! […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

