Road to Recovery – Part 3

I don’t know where to begin.

After assessing the X-Ray taken this morning, my surgeon, said I am doing great and even noticed my weightloss.

All pins, spacers, screws are in place.

On the left side – the bone is growing at an expected pace.

On the right side – the bone is growing at an accelerated pace.

Yippee!

I am now able to drive, lift up to 25 lbs, sit as much as I want to and take a bath.

WOOT!

This was my first post-op appt with my surgeon.

It was great to talk with him about my surgery w/o the presence of morphine like when we last spoke @ the hospital.

He said that he would never forget me.

He said, in surgery, as he was beginning to see what was going on in my back, he thought it was not to bad.

However, once he was able to see all that was actually going on, he could not imagine how much pain I must have been in for my entire life.

He said he had never seen anything like my back.

This is something coming from a surgeon who has been in practice for my entire life and is an approved doc for the President, (has been since Reagan).

He knows his stuff.

The fact that he will remember me is amazing, not because I am so wonderful, but because it might help someone else.

Praise God.

He was almost in tears when we were talking and his sincerity was nearly palpable.

I was in tears thanking him for taking my case and giving me so much relief already.

I know that God is the one who is doing the healing and guided his hands during surgery, but this is the man who God used.

Living with chronic pain is a difficult thing.

Of course there is the pain that never goes away, but there is also the psychological pain that comes with it.

You feel a bit crazy at times and question if you are really feeling as bad as you think you are.

You are teased and questioned.

You are given a TON of advice, whether you want it or not.

You are looked at like you are crazy.

Once you get your diagnosis you feel validated.

You feel like you have proof, finally something in writing.

Something to prove to the world that you aren’t vying for attention.

In fact, the attention that comes from chronic pain is another kind of pain.

A pain in the neck. 🙂

That being said, when a doctor looks into your eyes and says he will help you, it elevates you to new heights.

It gives you hope.

For so long I lived with the idea that I would just have to live with pain.

Now I am struggling to imagine life without pain.

I think of all of the people who aren’t as blessed to have a problem that has a solution.

It makes me want to strive to serve those people.

To be their arms and feet.

To help carry their load.

To be a servant to all.

My challenge to you is, will you?

Will you sacrifice some of your time to help someone who is in need?

So many of you have done just that for me.

Whether it be helping with the kids, bring a meal or paying someone to clean my home, it is service.

For that I am eternally grateful.

Thank you!

Happy Monday.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Andrea said,

    I am so thrilled for you. You are an inspiration to all of us.

  2. 2

    Kandi said,

    So truly thankful for a wonderful surgeon! I’m really happy you are able to do more!

  3. 3

    What great news!! Praise God!

  4. 4

    Kimberly said,

    that is so awesome to be able to read what God is doing for you!

  5. 5

    Jenny said,

    Thanks Becky. After 20 years, I am still waiting for a doctor to say he can help. I never wanted that same pain and frustration for you and I am so glad that God has given you answers and provided for your needs. Thank you for asking others to step up and help those, like me, who live with the frustration, exhaustion and weariness of chronic pain every day and are still waiting for answers. God is so good to us. I am grateful for all that He has taught (and continues to teach) me through this struggle. The truth is that there is always someone in our lives who needs help. Sometimes it is obvious other times it may take some effort. May we all seek to serve and to love as Christ has so graciously served and loved for each of us!

  6. 6

    Celia said,

    YAY! So glad things are going well! Praise God!

  7. 7

    Deb said,

    Amazing! So thankful to hear that you are feeling better! Now you can come visit us in California!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

