Road to recovery Part 1

I just wanted to touch base to let you know I am doing well!

Surgery was more eventful than planned.

6 1/2 hours instead of 4 to be exact.

It went well, but I had second disc removed because it was also extremely herniated.

The surgeon also discovered I had a birth defect.

Apparently, I had 4 nerves completely compressed at 90′ angle.

The nerves usually come out at a 60′ angle.

I am feeling pretty well.

I have less pain today than I have been in for a long time!

When I got home from the hospital, Collin was upset by all of the needle marks/ bruises on my arms.

In an effort to calm him, we counted as many needle puncture marks as we could see.

I was in the hospital 4 1/2 days.

I had 3 IV’s and 17 other puncture marks.

I am a very hard stick! 😦

I have experienced numbness and weakness in my left foot, as in I can’t feel much.

As of today, I can feel a couple toes and have several spots of feeling overall on the foot.

I am also able to lift my toes about 1/4 inch now.

So we are already seeing improvement.

Nerves regenerate very slowly, it may take 6 mos to a year to regain everything.

Or it my never come back.

Either way, I feel so blessed to have had this procedure.

My incision looks good, according to Aaron.

He says that he can already see a great deal of healing.

The area has just started bruising over the last couple of days.

Stitches come out next week!

Currently, I have many restrictions.

For a month:

I am not allowed to Bend, Twist or Lift.

I can only sit 45 minutes at a time, 3 times a day.

I am encouraged to walk as much as possible.

Due to my left foot issues, I am walking with a walker.

I am really comforted by having my walker.

It has saved me from falling many times already!

More to come later!

I am pooped.

Thank you for your prayers and support!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kimberly said,

    So glad it is going well and you are recovering!
    Did the correct the 90 degree angles nerves or will they always be 90*?
    sitting 3 times a day doesn’t mean the rest is bed rest does it (since you are walking)

  2. 2

    Katie said,

    Love you lady- and praying for a fast heal!

  3. 3

    Andrea said,

    I am so glad that you are doing well. Glad to see you are having some feeling in your foot. I am praying for you and your family. I can’t wait for you to feel better.
    Miss Ya.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

