Noah’s tears fell, they fell hard.

It is Sunday night.

I am sitting in a tear-stained shirt.

Tears from a VERY sad little 5 year old boy.

On Tuesday he knows Mommy will be going to the hospital for surgery.

He remembers bits and pieces of the last time I had surgery.

While I am not sure how much he remembers, I know he remembers some of it vividly.

Last time, I was in the hospital for 9 days and recovery took 1 year.

This time, I will be in the hospital for 4 days and recovery will take 3 months.

In the months, weeks and days preceding this meltdown, we have been preparing the boys.

We have talked openly in front of them and with them about what will be going on.

We have geared them up for spending the night at 2 friend’s houses and 1 of their grandparents house all in 1 week.

Until tonight he was THRILLED with the idea.

And then… bedtime happened.

He broke down.

The weight of the upcoming week shook him to the core.

And tears feel.

He got hot.

He got clammy.

He was unable to speak.

He was on the verge of hyperventillation.

He was beside himself.

To be honest, so was I.

I was sad.

I was scared.

We talked.

We prayed.

I reminded him of the stuffed animal I bought for him to hug when he missed me

or when he was lonely and just needed an extra lovin.

We prayed.

We reminded him of how God will always be there and we are only a phone call away.

He finally calmed down.

Aaron put him back in bed.

He is resting.

Please keep our boys in your prayers over the next few weeks as we go through this difficult time.

Pray that we will trust God for the words to speak to calm their hearts while answering their questions.

Please pray for strength for our entire family.

Thank you!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Erin said,

    We will take great care…and we will pray for him and with him tomorrow night!

    ((((HUGS))))

    Erin

  2. 2

    Praying for all of you guys and the doctors!!

  3. 3

    Deb said,

    Cole got upset when he couldn’t go to the doctor with me and then we realized he was afraid that I was going to the hospital like when I had my appendix removed. These little ones understand and feel more than we can imagine! Praying for both your boys (and you and Aaron!)
    So, I must be having sympathy pains–I pulled my back this afternoon. I was pushing too hard to get stuff done. I am going to use the pain to remind me to pray for you! It’s only been a couple hours and I am already extremely annoyed–what a trial this must be for you, dear friend!
    Praying for you that God will grant you peace and healing. Thank you also for the extremely kind words you wrote about our visit. You are such a blessing!
    Love you!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

